Author Topic: Varnish ? Or Paint?  (Read 4685 times)

48bomber

Varnish ? Or Paint?
« on: June 20, 2009, 09:33:37 pm »
Hey All!
 I am new to this and full of questions. I know I am a little off on the seasons , but snow is never far from mind! Were the wood bodied machines painted , or varnished when made new? Some of the pics on the  net show both ways . The pinstripe on some,is that corect?
Cheers,
 48 bomber

Offline Averyman

• View Profile
Re: Varnish ? Or Paint?
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2009, 04:52:18 am »
48 Bomber.. I have a '51 machine and it is varnished with dark red pinstriping. It has never been refinished and although it could use a  coat of varnish I am reluctant to mess with the origional finish.

Offline oldsledz

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2009, 06:35:47 am »
48 Bomber.

One way to tell what color your b12 is, is by looking at your steering column.  Charles Bouchard of Quebec tells me that the columns are tan as on the "woody" models.  If it is burgandy or blue,  it would the outside color as well.  Another way to confirm is to call the Bombardier museum in Valcourt, Quebec,  gvie them your infomation off the brass tag and they can tell you the original color it was from the factory. If you have ever seen a varnished one,  they are beautiful,  looks like a piece of fine furniture.  Look under the narrow gauge section of the forum.  Old trucker has posted photos of my machine and you notice that the column is tan.  Good luck!

Oldsledz

48bomber

« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2009, 08:07:59 pm »
to oldsleds,
  Thanks for the reply!
  If its a tan colum it would be varnished? I have not taken delivery of my woodie , but the pics look tan.
 Anyone coming from Sask to ont with some extra room for a bomber?
  Cheers

Offline the old trucker

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2009, 07:24:43 am »

48bomber, any chance of seeing the pics you have of your new bomber ?
after covering a few acres of prime real estate.

Offline oldsledz